The First Adventure ~ Song of the Lioness by Tamora Pierce ~ Review

The First Adventure

Song of the Lioness book 1

51Sc1+51ymL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

By Tamora Pierce

Amazon link

$6.83 at time of posting

Book Description:

“From now on I’m Alan of Trebond, the younger twin. I’ll be a knight.”

And so young Alanna of Trebond begins the journey to knighthood. Alanna has always craved the adventure and daring allowed only for boys; her twin brother, Thom, yearns to learn the art of magic. So one day they decide to switch places: Disguised as a girl, Thom heads for the convent; Alanna, pretending to be a boy, is on her way to the castle of King Roald to begin her training as a page. But the road to knighthood is not an easy one. As Alanna masters the skills necessary for battle, she must also learn to control her heart and to discern her enemies from her allies. Filled with swords and sorcery, adventure and intrigue, good and evil, Alanna’s first adventure begins—one that will lead to the fulfillment of her dreams and make her a legend in the land.

Review:

A small and little known fact about myself. Tamora Pierce will ALWAYS been one of my favorite authors. Her books I grew up with and they fueled my imagination like gasoline fuels a fire.

The First adventure is the first book in the Lioness series about a Girl Alanna who wants to be a knight in a time when woman were not given the chance. She sneaks her way into it and does amazing.

I read this book many many many years ago. I loved it then and I adore it more even now. I am more aware of what Im reading and I had become unable to recall specifics. I usually hate rereading books. But this is a series and a book I may even reread a few weeks from now.

Alanna is a inspiration to woman and girls. She paves her own way through hard work and quick thought. And yes while she tricks, harasses and at times manipulates. She does it within reason I feel. The other characters are just as good and loved by me. I cried, I laughed and I smiled. Reading this. . . was like reading a fond memory.

I feel this series is a must read for young girls, teen girls, adult woman, and boys/men. This is a series with meat and grit and passion. The land of Tortall is large, and well thought out.

5/5 Lady Knights

3 thoughts on “The First Adventure ~ Song of the Lioness by Tamora Pierce ~ Review

  1. fredamans says:

    Fantastic review!
    First off, the cover lures me in. I love horses and the fantasy feel comes through still.
    The fact that you read this and then re-read this and still love it has me intrigued. To keep your love that long means it must be decent. I think I might have to check this series out!

    • Little Hawk says:

      Tamora Pierce is an author that will always bring me back. It had been a great many years since I last read the series. Almost ten years actually. But whether it was vague in my mind or clear. Yes, this is a series I love. I love all of her books. Its very kid friendly and I never noticed the more adult hints in the book. Growing up, I notice more of it, and I see it more clearly. My all time fave is the Circle of Magic series, Stitch witchery. Tamora Pierce shows, exhibits and creates a great variety of magic and fighting. The Shang warriors are truly as interesting as a Knight or a Master of Magic. Enjoy it when you read it.

  2. […] The First Adventure(Song of Lioness book 1) by Tamora Pierce ~ Review […]

Leave a Reply

